

### The Columbus Education Association's

# Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award, presented by the Columbus Education Association, is the oldest award of its kind in Central Ohio. This is the 44th Anniversary of this award being presented on behalf of the teachers of Columbus City Schools. Our teachers are proud to commemorate Dr. King's life and to salute annually someone who has worked to keep his dream alive.

To nominate someone, read the guidelines below and complete the attached nomination form. Supportive documents or attachments are permitted.

The annual banquet will be held on Thursday, January 16, 2025, prior to the observance of the Dr. King national holiday. Anyone wishing to attend may call CEA for tickets.

#### Award Guidelines

- A. Purpose: The CEA Board of Governors has established the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award for distinguished service in the areas of community service, education or human and civil rights which has been rendered at the local, state or national level.
- **B.** Award: The presentation of a plaque will be made by the President of the Columbus Education Association at the Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award Banquet.
- C. Eligibility: Any individual may be nominated for this award except current employees of Columbus City Schools. There shall be no time limit placed upon the period within which specific achievements have been accomplished. The criteria for selecting an award winner, however, demands that such contributions be of sufficient quality and import as to cause the award to be viewed with respect and high esteem.
- **D. Nominations:** Nominations will be accepted from community members, including students, parents, business-persons, teachers and public officials. Nominations must be submitted to the CEA Office by 4:30 p.m., Friday, November 8, 2024, and should be sent to:

CEA MIP Committee 929 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43205

Fax (614) 253-0465 or email Dorothy Wilson at dwilson@ceaohio.org

The members of the MIP Committee and CEA welcome your input to the selection of this year's recipient and extend an invitation for you to attend the banquet in January. Please call CEA at (614) 253-4731 with any questions.

	Past Recipients	1991	Angela Pace Janet Jackson	2003 2004	Samuel Gresham Jr. Michael B. Coleman	2017 2018	Bishop Jerome Ross RoseMary Foster-Munnerlyn
1980	David D. Hamlar	1992	Arthur J. Kobacker	2005	Charleta B. Tavares	2019	Dr. Joshua Joseph
1981	Loretta Heard &	1993	Jim Swearingen &	2006	Rep. Joyce Beatty	2020	Steven L. Pruitt
	Clifford Tyree		Dexter Coleman	2007	Jerry Hammond	2023	Mike Jackson
1982	Watson Walker	1994	Ray Miller	2008	Rev. Leon Troy	2024	Pastor Dr. Keith A. Troy &
1983	Benson Wolman &	1995	Bernard Master	2009	Clarence Lumpkin		Minister Brenda F. Troy
	Jack Gibbs	1996	Reginald C. Anglen	2010	Michelle Mills		•
1984	Robert M. Duncan	1997	Cynthia B. Dillard	2011	Kevin Boyce		(A)
1985	Barbee William Durham	1998	Les Wright	2012	Rev. Dale Snyder &		
1986	Amos H. Lynch, Sr.	1999	Yvonne Thomas &		Priscilla Tyson		
1987	Phale Hale		Rev. Dr. Sokoto Fulani	2013	Napoleon A. Bell		Have
1988	Ben Espy	2000	Ada Martin	2014	Dr. Charles Booth		TERM!
1989	Edna Lorena Bryce	2001	Timothy J. Clarke	2015	Dr. C. Dexter Wise III		
1990	Philip A. Locke &	2002	Claire L. Waters	2016	Rev. Frederick V. LaMarr		(ii)



## The Columbus Education Association's

# Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award

Name of Nominee: _	
	Work Phone:
	is form:
City/State/ZIP:	
	Work Phone:
Please provide inform as being worthy of the	Corroborative Information nation regarding the nominee's specific accomplishments that you feel would establish her or him is award.  (Attachments are permitted)
Please list the nomine	Occupational & Civic Information ee's occupational and/or civic (community) involvement in activities, organizations, honors, etc.  (Attachments are permitted)
1	References
Name	Phone
Name	Phone
Date received:	(deadline 4:30 p.m., Monday, November 8, 2024)