

The Columbus Education Association's

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner

Helen Jenkins Davis Award

The Helen Jenkins Davis Award is presented by the Columbus Education Association and named in honor of the first Black teacher hired by the Columbus City Schools. The award will be presented at the Annual King Awards Dinner to a Columbus teacher who has worked to promote social justice, diversity and human and civil rights.

Helen Jenkins Davis was the first African-American educator hired by the Columbus City Schools District (1918). Helen Jenkins Davis, the daughter of a freed slave from Kentucky, resisted discrimination many times and served to promote human rights and equality until her death in 1987 at the age of 92.

To nominate an individual, follow the guidelines below and complete the attached nomination form. Supportive documents are permitted.

The annual banquet will be held on Thursday, January 16, 2025, prior to the observance of the Dr. King national holiday. Anyone wishing to attend may call CEA for tickets at (614) 253-4731.

Award Guidelines

- **A. Purpose:** The Minority Involvement Program (MIP) Committee of the Columbus Education Association has established an award to honor one of our own members who has promoted social justice and diversity through teaching and service in Columbus City Schools or the Columbus community.
- **B.** Award: The presentation of the award will be made by the President of the Columbus Education Association at the Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner on Thursday, January 16, 2025. The award is named after one of our own members, Helen Jenkins Davis.
- **C. Eligibility:** Any member of the Columbus Education Association bargaining unit is eligible for this award. There shall be no time limit placed on the period within which specific achievements have been accomplished. The criteria for selecting an award winner, however, demands that the contributions be of significance.
- D. Nominations: Nominations will be accepted from CEA members, parents, business and community members, public officials and students. Nominations must be submitted to the CEA Office by 4:30 p.m., Friday, November 8, 2024, and should be sent to: CEA MIP Committee

929 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43205

Fax (614) 253-0465 or email Dorothy Wilson at wilsond@ceaohio.org

The members of the MIP Committee and CEA welcome your input to the selection of this year's recipient and extend an invitation for you to attend the banquet in January. Please call CEA at (614) 253-4731 with any questions.

			Past Recipients			
2007	Dorothy G. Wilson	2013	Dr. Sybil Yvonne Brown	2019	Jennifer La Place	
2008	Cathy D. Nelson	2014	Rhonda R. Johnson	2020	Courtney Johnson	
2009	Carol Moyer	2015	Cora Miller	2023	Tyree Rivers	
2010	Sandra Y. Waters-Holley	2016	Dr. Yolanda M. Stewart	2024	Jeannette Johnson	
2011	Barbara Yarborough	2017	Kenya Davis			
	Jimmie Beall	2018	Chiquita Toure			



The Columbus Education Association's

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner Helen Jenkins Davis Annual Award Nomination Form

Name of Nominee:			
	one: Work Phone:		
Person completing this forms	:		
Home Phone:	Work Phone:		
Provide information regardir being worthy of this award.	Corroborative Information ng the nominee's specific accomplishments that you feel would establish her or him as (Attachments are permitted)		
List the nominee's occupatio	Occupational & Civic Information nal and/or civic (community) involvement in activities, organizations, honors, etc. (Attachments are permitted)		
1	References		
Name	Phone		
Name	Phone		
Date received:(office use)	(deadline 4:30 p.m., Friday, November 8, 2024)		